connected world


The phrase connected world sounds somewhat trite. But is been interesting to try to apply for some jobs and contracts using only a phone. The way in which several connected services hooked up was interesting. Lets try to convey what we just saw – when applying for a job interview using “post-web” tools.

The best way to start out is to see how dropbox worked itself into the connected mix. (Dropbox is a file service). How did they connect up their service is connected to other online services to which I “connected” their file store API (using oauth2 handshakes, technically). To be honest, most of the connections shown, below, were 1 day experiments that I don’t even recall configuring. But you can see a couple of the most recent connections – 1) monster.com (the job/contract hunting site, and 2) office.com (where your live.com account lets you edit word file that are persisted to either microsoft onedrive or… dropbox file stores).

image

So we used google to search for a job and location related listing. We had logged into google (but not to chrome, googles browser)

image

This led us to monster.com (on a phone, remember)- which allowed a facebook SSO login.

image

Since I rarely use facebook – or so I though. I updated the facebook profile that it will share with those posting the monster.com job listings. And I noted how this very blog is connected to my facebook wall. Apparently, posting an article to this blog site has been posting a summary to facebook, since wordpress.com and facebook.com were set up by an oauth handshake to be connected service partners.

On using monster, of course they wanted me to upload a resume (and a cover letter). Which is were they noted that I might upload to monster from dropbox…

I may have an old resume document somewhere; and can use it as a basis for making a new resume suitable for part time jobs and contracting opportunities. If I do, its stored in my live.com skydrive account. So I went to office.com to use the online word tool, which of course was connected by live.com logon to my document store AND to dropbox (once I set it up). SO I realized that I can edit in word (online, and store in dropbox, then return to monster and let monster pull the file drop the common service storing the file (dropbox).

image

image

About home_pw@msn.com

Computer Programmer who often does network administration with focus on security servers. Very strong in Microsoft Azure cloud!
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.